I’m very aware of my current lack of direction with this blog and clarity on its themes–the blogosphere is still a new and mysterious world to me with plenty more to explore and discover. Hopefully the action of this will help influence and shape my own space.

However, for now, there is one thing I do know; I really do indeed enjoy reading about what individuals are doing and trying out, particularly restaurants and bars in and about London. Lifestyle blogs are very readable but I’m not entirely sure that will be the sole content for the Drifting Londoner BUT I’ll try posting weekly roundups for now and see how it goes…

Sushi Samba

That lift 🙂

I’ve been to Sushi Samba a number of times before, usually for cocktails not wine so this was a first of sorts. It has a vibrant atmosphere but can get rather busy at the weekend. #WineWednesdays however are perfect for a cheeky visit: you can get to the bar and order with ease but there’s still a great vibe. #WineWednesdays is becoming something of a weekly institution in my group of girls for that all needed catch-up and gossip. You always need to make time to see those that you love <3.

IMG_1734 IMG_8025

Nearest tube: Liverpool Street

My Place, Soho

Now this place was a total surprise. I was planning to go for a MEGA catch up dinner with an old friend (hadn’t seen her in over a year) and fancied trying something new in Soho. I booked this place after seeing a few raving reviews with a tastecard but still had fairly low expectations (I’ve learnt to manage expectations after a few surprises). The website looks fab but still you never know!

My Place definitely delivered. They offer a small menu of dishes and plates to share which is perfect for my tastes. We opted for the Bruschetta, the cheese platter and the smoked salmon salad. None of these dishes disappointed and we found that this was perfect for the two of us. With a mega 50% off the food menu, My Place Soho is an absolute bargain and I’ll definitely be back.

 

Nearest tube: Tottenham Court Road / Oxford Circus / Piccadilly Circus

Hakkasan Hanway

From Hakkasan Hanway’s Instagram

This is definitely makes it onto my list of favourite restaurants in London and is honestly the perfect spot for a date night. A dark but modern interior, cool music and a trendy vibe, this is definitely somewhere to try. The food is next to none, the cocktails are little pieces of art and they have a stellar wine list. Bonus points-it’s the sort of place you can dress up a little! Think LBD and some strapy heels.

Nearest tube: Tottenham Court Road

Neices’ 1st birthday party

Eggless cake for the birthday girls

My weekend was filled with family this weekend as we made our way to my cousin’s house to celebrate his twins’ birthdays. Anmol and Kushi are my nieces as per the status quo in a large Indian family, however I’m aware of the confusion that this can bring. Cue the shocked texts from friends (who should know better by now) asking if one of my sisters has had children already (my sisters are younger than me).

It’s on these occasions that I love being part of a large Indian family. Family keeps you grounded, they’re the ones that keep you focused on the important things and bring perspective to your life.

That’s all for now. I’ll probably be posting more in depth reviews of some of the places I’ve mentioned so follow Drifting Londoner!
Malti x

