Breakfast, Lunch AND Dinner all under one roof. My morning coffee and  an evening glass of wine under in one place? I’ve noticed a number of these continental style cafes popping up over London recently and I have to admit that I’m a huge fan! It’s always baffled me why these casual all day venues haven’t been more popular  in the past but it’s all good–the new generation of cafe owners in London have heard my cries and are putting a right to the wrong.

My Place Soho is a cute little spot in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Berwick Street. I discovered it when hunting for a bargain in Soho with the Tastecard app. The venue has some great reviews so I thought I should check it out. As first impressions go however, they were a mixed big; it has a very cool vibe with on-trend exposed brick walls decorated with tasteful artwork and photographs but  I was a little unsure if this is really a dining sort of place–one can never really be sure about such things.

Never judge a book by its cover.

As soon as my friend and I went in and mentioned a reservation, we were ushered into the back were a number of small tables were set up. Now this was definitely more like it! It actually felt like a spot where you could get some food.

We ordered drinks to start with (non-alcoholic catch up on this occasion). I went for a fresh carrot juice and my friend for mint tea. Then the difficult task of deciding on food came.

I haven’t mentioned this before but I’m incredibly indecisive when it comes to choosing food from a menu. For this reason I do love a small menu. In my experience of small venues and their menus, fewer options generally indicates a better quality of dish which is an added bonus!

The food menu at My Place is very short and filled light options that can be easily shared. I’m a sucker for platters and cheese boards so this was perfect for me! My friend and I opted for the bruschetta, the smoked salmon salad and a cheese board with Bleu d’Auvergne, a creamy blue cheese which is absolutely scrumptious, and Chaource, a double cream cheese similar in flavour to brie.

c8a22-11909170_923064904441193_773435029_n
Salmon, cheeses, proscuitto, fruits and fresh bread ❤

The brruschetta had three great flavour combinations but the gorgonzola and pear was the outright winner for both of us! It had the perfect mix of fruit and cheese and its a combination I’m definitely going to try  in my own cooking. The salmon salad was also fabulous with baby spinach, baked sweet potato, beetroot and avocado tossed in a lemon and butter dressing, topped with more gorgonzola. And a cheese board is a cheese board–its hard to go wrong here. It included our two chosen cheeses (my favourite was the blue cheese by far), bread, grapes, walnuts pickets and fig jam. This platter is a great option where you chose your own mix of cheeses and charcuterie from a taste looking list.

These three dishes were more than enough for the two of us and the meal came in at an absolute bargain with 50% off the food bill with my Tastecard. Our waiter was incredibly relaxed and the whole atmosphere was a chilled out one. It’s a great place to catch up with a friend–we were sat at our table for several hours slowly getting through our food. Even after we paid there was no pressure to leave and free up a table. We were left at peace until we were ready to head home.


My Place Soho, 21 Berwick Street, W1F 0PZ
(Tottenham Court Road, Oxford Circus, Piccadilly Circus)
website | twitter | instagram

